Mad Men – Season Wrap-Up

Mad Men was a show I always heard about and especially read about. I mostly read about how many Emmy awards they are annually nominated for. Because of this, I was intrigued by the show, but very intimidated. I told myself there are too many episodes to catch up to and so on. Then this blog report was the perfect opportunity for me to start this journey.

The show started a little slow, but Don Draper played excellently by John Hamm kept me going. His acting is spot on, and his character is straight-up awesome. Emotionally, he is weak at times, but he is the best at what he does. When the spotlight is on him, he delivers and that interests me. This is a character driven show, and the cast is absolutely perfect. There are your likeable characters, and characters you can hate; and it shows them in their everyday life in New York City in the 1960s.

Mad Men is the term that was given to the ad men in New York in this particular time period, and they are truly mad men. They cheat on their wives, drink heavily during the day and belittle any woman around them. The motto of the show, “where the truth lies” is perfect. Where is the truth? All the characters are lying to each other and they live in a very cut throat environment. It is pure entertainment and we can relate to a lot of the angles that we see on the show. I know people who get turned off from the show because it is set in the past. I think the opposite. I appreciate the way the show is portrayed. It is so authentic from the wardrobe to the technology to the furniture in homes, and I tip my hat to the people who work behind the scenes because it really brought out a great aspect in the show.

Now let’s give credit to where credit is due. Whoever casted Joan played by Christina Hendricks and Betty played by January Jones are geniuses. They are absolutely gorgeous and played their roles wonderfully. Then, you have a character like Peggy played by Elisabeth Moss, somewhat of the underdog that a lot of people can relate to, starting from the bottom and working their way up.

Overall, I truly enjoyed the show every step of the way. I honestly cannot wait to watch season 2 and see what else will happen. There was drama, comedy and romance; the formula for a successful TV show today. The character development is there as well especially with Peggy in this season and I am looking forward to the other character changes and angles next season.

Mad Men deserves all the critical acclaim it has been given and the creators have a great concept on their hands. I enjoyed the blogging as well. At first I needed some pointers and help on how to blog, but once I got the hang out it, it began to be fun for me. I get to express how I feel about the show, and how I felt about the storyline. I was put through cliffhangers and suspense after every episode. I’m contemplating continuing this blog for the next season even though it was sometimes tedious. I want to live in the 60’s after watching this show. It has made a serious impact on me and I would consider myself a fanatic at this point. I would advise the doubters to jump on the bandwagon with me and enjoy the ride.

Season Rating: 4.8/5.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

